Rearview Mirror – Irene Yuen

Long John Silver? No, I work at Arrrrrrrrrrrrrby's. Why do you ask?

Just as love knows no boundaries, neither do our 2010 in musical reviews recognize the paltry calendar year.  Ain’t no mountain high enough, ain’t no final month of the year long enough to stop our love.

Today’s late but still timely review comes from Irene Yuen who starts her recap off with this statement:

“Why I was asked to participate in this, I still have no idea, as I have neither Rock nor Roll in my body, but because Postcard Elba asked me, I was more than happy to oblige.”

The reason we asked is because Irene is a straight up super-fan of  the most inspiring heights.  She is known to regularly drive thousands of miles to catch all the west coast dates of her favorite acts.  She loves music and we love that she loves music.  So that’s why we asked her.  Check out the objects of her 2010 obsessions below.

I have a tendency to compulsively listen to an album for months at a time once I’m fixated on them, so some of these albums were new to the year 2010, others from former glory days. Either way, they are albums I lived my year through and, as I have a somewhat limited scope of musical knowledge, in no way reflect the best of. So don’t judge me. My heart can’t take it. Fine, fine, I lied. I have no heart. Judge away!

And while you’re judging, you can enjoy some of the official music videos from these albums

Broken Bells – Broken Bells

Buckle in the Bible Belt – Ha Ha Tonka

Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles

EP – The Brix (formerly The Hypo Twins)

Fantasies – Metric

Good Morning, Magpie – Murder by Death

A History of Public Relations Dilemmae – Petrojvic Blasting Company

Junior – Royksopp

Like the Exorcist…But More Breakdancing – Murder by Death

Phase Shift – darkhalo

Red of Tooth & Claw – Murder by Death

Sigh No More – Mumford & Sons

When Irene isn’t driving all over following the bands she loves,  she is very involved in the west coast J-Pop and cosplay scenes and runs the blog Kalamari Kastle, documenting both.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

