Virgil’s Beer of the Week

Our good friend Virgil Dickerson from Suburban Home Records returns with another pick for our weekly segment known so beautifully and simply as: Virgil’s Beer of the Week.

We’re back from vacation (we went to Detroit – it was great, you should go) and back in style with another fine beer pick from our pal Virgil. This week he’s talking about Great Divide’s Belgian Yeti Imperial Stout.

This week, I bring you the Great Divide’s Belgian Yeti Imperial Stout. I can still remember the day that I first heard someone utter the words Belgian Yeti; I can say without hesitation that my mind was honestly blown. While I consider myself a pretty avid and proud beer nerd, I had never heard of an Imperial Stout brewed with a Belgian Yeast. I couldn’t even begin to imagine what a beer like this would taste like. Being buds with a few of the Great Divide brewers/bartenders, the topic came up from time to time and the vagueness of our conversations just lent to me getting more and more excited about this future beer. I celebrate the Yeti and all of its variations. I love the oak aged, the chocolate, the espresso oak aged, and the regular Yeti. But no matter how many times I tried to wrap my brain around the Belgian Yeti, I just could not imagine what that would entail. I put the idea of the Belgian Yeti on a huge pedestal. I had a meeting at Great Divide on Wednesday and after our meeting, my buddy Colin asked me if I wanted to take home some beer. I don’t care how many times I get asked that question, the answer will always be a resounding “Fuck Yeah”. He walked me back to their refrigerated storage room and he slowly handed me a bomber of Hercules (their double IPA). I nonchalantly asked if they had some of the Belgian Yeti and just as I was asking, I saw that he was handing me a bottle. I almost screamed out loud knowing that soon, I would have the beer I could barely imagine existing. Somehow I waited an entire day before I decided to pop it open. I don’t know if it is because of all of the hype I’ve built up in my head or that I imagined how this might taste for nearly 2 months, but at this very moment, this is my favorite Yeti. I think that this Yeti might be the smoothest of the Yeti variations and probably the most well-balanced. I shared it with a friend and we both agreed that while it had a huge flavor profile, it was really easy to drink. I’ve read reviews that mention the fruity nature of the Belgian Yeast. While that may be true, I can only say that this is a one of a kind beer that is likely to unify both the Imperial Stout and the Belgian Beer lover. This is probably my favorite new beer of the summer. This beer gets my highest recommendation.

This Week’s Contest: Like I’ve done before, I offer up a contest whereby you guess what pint glass is in the photo next to the Great Divide Belgian Yeti. Correctly guess the brewery and the name of the beer on the pint glass and you can win a record of your choice from Suburban Home Records. Good Luck. Send your answers to postcardeditor@gmail.com. One lucky winner will be drawn at random from the correct guesses.

If you want to send me beer for a future review, my address is 2000 Wadsworth Blvd #138, Lakewood, CO 80214.

Virgil Dickerson

www.suburbanhomerecords.com

Virgil Dickerson is the owner of Suburban Home Records. Support his beer passion by supporting his fabulous label by checking out one of these recent and upcoming SH releases.

Out Now:

Michael Dean Damron “Plea From a Ghost” LP/CD, Josh Small’s Juke LP/CD, I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In the House “The Sounds of Dying” LP/CD, Two Cow Garage “Sweet Saint Me” LP/CD, Micah Schnabel “When The Stage Light Goes Dim” LP/CD

Coming Soon:

Kay Kay and His Weathered Underground “Introducing” LP/CD, Under the Influence Volumes 1-10 dbl LP/CD, Drag the River “Hobos Demos/Chicken Demos” LP/CD, Ruiner/Attica Attica UTI 7″, Cheap Girls/Noise By Numbers UTI 7″, Dead to Me/Flatliners UTI 7″

One Trackback to “Virgil’s Beer of the Week”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

