SXSWland Tales – Nick Cross

We didn’t go to SXSW this year, but a lot of people we know did.  We’ve thrown out the invitation for them to document their experiences here, in a little segment we’re calling SXSWland Tales.

First entry is from our friend Nick Cross – tour manager for Asobi Seksu and co-host of the podcast Nick & Mat’s Infinite Shitlist.

So, SXSW Day 1 down.  I woke up on a couch in this house we rented that’s just a little too far from downtown.  My clothes (all of them) are randomly hanging around the house because the dryer in the house doesn’t fucking work, so the laundry I had been saving to do here is wet and cold and everywhere.  Fuck it.

Anyway, yesterday wasn’t the most exciting of days, just got here, checked in, watched some cable at the house, then went downtown to do a showcase for our booking agent.  I got myself a Lonestar tall boy as soon as I walked in the door, and tried to do as much boozing as possible before things shut down (which is way too early here by the way…fuck a city where the bars close at 2:00).  Met up with my boys Gray Blue and Mike Bigel for shots and more beers.  Our buzzed manager introduced me to a bunch of people whose names I forgot, and continually told them I’m the best TM ever.  We’re playing this afternoon at the same place as last night, so we didn’t even need to load out…bonus!

Today should be a good day though.  Only an afternoon showcase, and we’re doing work to make sure we get to see Wu-Tang tonight (dolla dolla bills ya’ll).  Perhaps tomorrow I’ll be able to send you a little art of me and the RZA smoking tons of weed…but probably not.  All you get for today is a shot of my socks and underwear drying on a couple merch boxes.  Better and crazier things tonight.  Promise.

Nick

Leave a Reply

