Virgil’s Beer of the Week

Our good friend Virgil Dickerson from Suburban Home Records returns with another pick for our weekly segment known so beautifully and simply as: Virgil’s Beer of the Week.

This week’s beer is Upslope Brown Ale.

This week, I bring you the Upslope Brown Ale. Upslope is a small, fairly new craft brewer based in Boulder, Colorado. The brewery is located in an industrial office park. While the brewery hasn’t been around very long, they’ve sure come a long way in the time they have been around. The Upslope Brown marks the 3rd beer that they’ve canned after canning a delicious IPA and a Pale Ale. Between the handful of beers that Upslope cans and the beers they have on tap at restaurants and in their tap room, Upslope appear to have a really bright future.

 

This brown ale is definitely up there as one of my favorites. I love a lot of brown ales (Avery’s Ellie Brown, Dog Fish Head’s Imperial Brown are two I love very much), but this one might be tops for me. What makes this beer so special? Well, the first thing I noticed when drinking this beer is the roasted, smoky malt which weirdly enough reminds me of this burnt rice tea my mom makes. The brown ale is robust in flavor as there are bitter hops, and elements of coffee and brown sugar. While the beer is damn tasty in a can, I usually drink the beer from the taps at Illegal Petes (a restaurant that I help book shows at). I drink the beer so much that the bartenders rarely ask me what I want to drink because they know what my answer will be.

 

I highly recommend trying this beer. I have no idea how far out Upslope is distributed, but hopefully it is available in a town near you. If it isn’t, drop me a line and maybe we can set up some kind of beer trade.

 

Contest: Like I’ve done before, I offer up a contest whereby you guess what pint glass is in the photo next to the Upslope Brown Ale. I ran out of brewery pint glasses so this time around, you must guess the band featured in this Suburban Home pint glass. This beer pours really dark so it is going to have to be a guess. Good Luck. Send your answers to postcardeditor@gmail.com.  One lucky winner will be drawn at random from the correct guesses.

 

Last week’s winner was Michael Spatafore, he was randomly drawn from the correct guesses of Bristol Brewing’s Laughing Lab.

Thanks guys for reading and participating in our trivia. 

 

Virgil Dickerson
www.suburbanhomerecords.com 

Virgil Dickerson is the owner of Suburban Home Records.  Support his beer passion by supporting his fabulous label by checking out one of these recent and upcoming SH releases.

Out Now:
I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In the House “The Sounds of Dying” LP/CD, Two Cow Garage “Sweet Saint Me” LP/CD, The Gamits “Parts” LP/CD. Austin Lucas “Collection” LP/CD, Micah Schnabel “When The Stage Light Goes Dim” LP/CD

Coming Soon:
Michael Dean Damron “Plea From a Ghost” LP/CD, Josh Small’s Juke LP/CD, Under the Influence Volumes 1-10 dbl LP/CD, Drag the River “Hobos Demos/Chicken Demos” LP/CD, Ruiner/Attica Attica UTI 7″, Cheap Girls/Noise By Numbers UTI 7″, Dead to Me/Flatliners UTI 7″

3 Responses to “Virgil’s Beer of the Week”

  1. Its a Suburban Home glass, can’t tell if there is a band on there though.

  2. Whooooeee boy if that ain’t some good suds!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

