Virgil’s Beer of the Week

Our good friend Virgil Dickerson from Suburban Home Records returns with another pick for our weekly segment known so beautifully and simply as: Virgil’s Beer of the Week.

This week Virgil breaks down Lagunita’s Gnarly Wine.

This week, I bring you Lagunitas’ Gnarly Wine, an American style Barley Wine. I’m not sure how familiar you are with barley wines; I’d have to say that this style of beer is responsible for my strong love of craft beer and over any other style, this is my favorite type of beer. Barley wines are almost always huge, slightly over the top beers. They can be sweet and malty. This particular beer clocks in at 10.6 percent alcohol which is somewhere in the middle of American Barley Wines.

Gnarly Wine is definitely up there as one of my favorite Barley Wines. Understand that I’ve done my fair share of research on Barley Wines and I can say without hesitation that this is one of the good ones. For a bomber, the price is very inexpensive (usually $4.99 or $5.99). Combine how strong this beer is and how inexpensive it is, you have a winning combination. While I recommend nearly every beer Lagunitas makes, this is one I hope everyone tries.

Contest: Like I’ve done before, I offer up a contest whereby you guess what pint glass is in the photo next to the Lagunitas’ Gnarly Wine. Correctly guess the glass and you can win a record of your choice from Suburban Home Records. Good Luck. Send your answers to postcardeditor@gmail.com. One lucky winner will be drawn at random from the correct guesses.

If you want to send me beer for a future review, my address is 2000 Wadsworth Blvd #138, Lakewood, CO 80214.

Virgil Dickerson

http://www.suburbanhomerecords.com

Virgil Dickerson is the owner of Suburban Home Records. Support his beer passion by supporting his fabulous label by checking out one of these recent and upcoming SH releases.

Out Now:

Michael Dean Damron “Plea From a Ghost” LP/CD, Josh Small’s Juke LP/CD, I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In the House “The Sounds of Dying” LP/CD, Two Cow Garage “Sweet Saint Me” LP/CD, Micah Schnabel “When The Stage Light Goes Dim” LP/CD

Coming Soon:

Kay Kay and His Weathered Underground “Introducing” LP/CD, Under the Influence Volumes 1-10 dbl LP/CD, Drag the River “Hobos Demos/Chicken Demos” LP/CD, Ruiner/Attica Attica UTI 7″, Cheap Girls/Noise By Numbers UTI 7″, Dead to Me/Flatliners UTI 7″

One Trackback to “Virgil’s Beer of the Week”

Leave a Reply

