Virgil’s Beer of the Week

Our good friend Virgil Dickerson from Suburban Home Records returns with another pick for our weekly segment known so beautifully and simply as: Virgil’s Beer of the Week.

This week Virgil talks about Rogue’s Double Mocha Porter.

This week, I bring you the Double Mocha Porter by Rogue. On my way to my brother and sister-in-law’s house for dinner, I decided to pick up a few beers. I visited Applejack liquors (featured in Beer Wars) who always have a great selection of beers. While walking down the aisles, i saw this beautiful bottle and noticed it was a beer from Rogue I have never had. I noticed the style of beer, a double mocha porter, something I have never had and a beer I knew my sister-in-law would like. My brother only drinks Miller Lite so only the 2 of us would be sharing this one. This beer smells much like you think it would with bits of chocolate and coffee. Those first few sips and I agree with my nose as there are elements of coffee, chocolate, malts, and hops. I guess I expected it to be a much crazier beer, but this beer is very well-balanced and not overly sweet. At 8.2 percent alcohol, it is definitely a big beer, but it’s not over the top. I enjoyed the beer very much as did my sis-in-law. We ended up having ice cream after dinner and it later dawned on me that I should have saved some of the beer as this could make for the perfect beer float. Next time for sure.

Contest: My sis-in-law took a photo of this beer for me while I was out messing around with water balloons with my son and nieces. Because of this, she didn’t know to get a distinguishable pint glass for a contest. So today’s contest is a bit different. A. Tell us what state the Rogue Brewery calls home and B. A great band, label, or record store that also resides in the same state. You can win a record of your choice from Suburban Home Records. Good Luck. Send your answers to postcardeditor@gmail.com. One lucky winner will be drawn at random from the correct guesses.

If you want to send me beer for a future review, my address is 2000 Wadsworth Blvd #138, Lakewood, CO 80214.

Virgil Dickerson

www.suburbanhomerecords.com

Virgil Dickerson is the owner of Suburban Home Records. Support his beer passion by supporting his fabulous label by checking out one of these recent and upcoming SH releases.

Out Now:

Michael Dean Damron “Plea From a Ghost” LP/CD, Josh Small’s Juke LP/CD, I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In the House “The Sounds of Dying” LP/CD, Two Cow Garage “Sweet Saint Me” LP/CD, Micah Schnabel “When The Stage Light Goes Dim” LP/CD

Coming Soon:

Kay Kay and His Weathered Underground “Introducing” LP/CD, Under the Influence Volumes 1-10 dbl LP/CD, Drag the River “Hobos Demos/Chicken Demos” LP/CD, Ruiner/Attica Attica UTI 7″, Cheap Girls/Noise By Numbers UTI 7″, Dead to Me/Flatliners UTI 7″

One Trackback to “Virgil’s Beer of the Week”

Leave a Reply

